top of page

Just For Today, I Will Live With Gratitude

Updated: Nov 17, 2020

The Five Reiki Principles are spiritual and behavioral guidelines rooted in Zen Buddhism and introduced to the practice of the Usui Reiki Healing Method by its founder Mikao Usui. He described the practice of these guidelines as "The secret law to invite happiness and blessings, the spiritual medicine against all illnesses”.

The practice of the Reiki Principles begins with the phrase "Just For Today', this phrase is the basic pillar of the practice: a call to be in the PRESENT MOMENT.

Buddha says,

"Do not dwell in the past,

do not dream of the future,

concentrate the mind

on the present moment."

When we suffer, it is easy to become absent from our present moment. Our minds can get caught in thinking about the past and speculating about the future. We focus our attention on the things we feel we need for our survival or happiness such as acceptance, love, respect, stability, success, etc. Thinking about these things, we can easily get caught in imaginary worlds of illusion and disconnect from our present realities.

But the present moment is the only real moment in which healing and/or happiness can actually become our reality. We cannot wait for things to change or something to happen so we can feel happy thereafter. We can easily waste our lives waiting, but staying present is not easy.

This beautiful life that we have comes hand in hand with suffering. Staying consciously present and aware during life's difficult experiences is really hard. Our minds will want to dwell on the pain, the past, or dream about the future.

We need to train our minds to stay present and aware, we need to learn how to find real peace and joy in the here and now regardless of our circumstances so we can bring our minds and our full presence back into the present moment.

"There are only two days in the year

that nothing can be done. One is

called yesterday and the other one is

called tomorrow, so today is the right

day to love, believe, do, and mostly live."


Through the practice of GRATITUDE, we can begin to accept and take joy in our reality just as it is in the present moment. At the same time, it is only with our conscious awareness in the present moment that we can experience a genuine state of gratitude.

Eckhart Tolle said, "It is through gratitude for the present moment that the spiritual dimension of life opens up”. Gratitude allows us to shift from resisting or evading our present moment to joyful acceptance of the gifts within it. Gratitude is not something that we do, but a state of being that irradiates from within and illuminates us, our lives, and everything and everyone we come in contact with. Gratitude is a state of earthly bliss!

With gratitude to all,



If you'd like to learn more about the practice of Gratitude and the other Reiki principles you can REGISTER FOR THE NEXT REIKI PRINCIPLES WORKSHOP!

In the upcoming workshop on THE FIVE REIKI PRINCIPLES, we study the ancient spiritual wisdom behind each principle and how to apply them to release our suffering and heal our lives.

The next 5-week series of this course begins on January 9th, 2021. Please book your spot if you are interested, space is limited!

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page